I realise I have important work to do here, but some things outweigh even the breathtakingly significant task at hand – and so I would like to take a moment to underline the dazzling courage of one Al Kitching, a vital moral leader of our times and the man behind the epic ongoing contemporary cultural analysis that is These Glory Days, who is shortly to attempt to upstage Lawrence Oates by actually surviving outdoors for a week in the heart of the antarctic – and one can make a donation at that very link.

In truth, I may be exaggerating the scale of his endeavour slightly, but what is certain is that the cause he acts in support of, The Anthony Nolan Trust, is a worthy one; and further, two lithograph prints by Matisse are to be charitably auctioned, with the winning bid added to his contribution. For more auction related details, see here.

May I, Cliff Knoetz, a humble best-seller waiting in the wings of literary history, and my creation, Agent Don Brawn, a fictional hero in Al Kitching’s actual mould, wish him all the best?

Yes. We both may.

